The Federal Executive Council has approved the establishment of an Economic Sustainability Committee as part of a grand plan to provide electricity for 25 million Citizens who lack access to the national grid. Tagged, Energy for All, the Programme aims at providing 5 million.

Solar Connections to various locations throughout the country in collaboration with State Governments.

The Economic Sustainability Committee which is being chaired by the Vice President Prof. Yemi Osinbanjo and comprising several Cabinet Members, is also expected to draw participation from private Sector Solar providers, including SMEs in the deployment of Solar Power to 5 million households; as well as encourage private Sector financing for off-grid solar energy projects with a minimum Tier (SOW-150W) system.

The ESC is further expected to attract investment of solar panel manufacturers into Nigeria, building on the work already done by NASENI and others.

The Programme is being implemented through existing structures within the @realREANigeria with approved financing facilities from the @cenbank and participating Financial Institutions.

To accelerate progress and ensure efficiency between the implementing partners and State Governments, the Hon. Minister of Power, Engr. Sale Mamman has approved the appointment of Mallam Abba Aliyu, an experienced Power Sector administrator, as coordinator for the programme.

Mallam Abba’s responsibility will be to engage all parties to make the program successful through maximum partnership and cooperation. He is also expected to drive cooperation between the Federal Rural Electrification Agency and State Rural Electrification Agencies to accelerate their participation, as well as partner with the REA and CBN for the monitoring and Evaluation of the Project.

Mallam Abba Aliyu is to commence his duties with immediate effect from the office of the Minister of Power.

The Minister of Power @EngrSMamman hereby congratulates the new Coordinator and wishes him the best in this capacity.

Aaron Artimas
SA Media and Communication
Office of the Honourable Minister of Power, Nigeria.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.