Amid Attack, Buhari Swears In New Ministers

President Muhammadu Buhari has sworn in the new members of his cabinet on Wednesday in Abuja, a few hours after his convoy was attacked.

President Buhari also assigned portfolios to the new ministers and charged them to serve the nation diligently.

The newly appointed ministers and their portfolios are: Ikechukwu Ikoh, Minister of State, Science and Technology; Umana Umana, Minister of Niger Delta Affairs; Udi Odum, Minister of State, Environment; Ademola Adegoroye, Minister of State, Transport; Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub, Minister of State, Works and Housing; Goodluck Opiah, Minister of State, Education and Nkama Ekumankama, Minister of State, Health.

Meanwhile, the convoy of the President was attacked while the Assistant Commissioner of Police, Aminu Umar, was killed alongside a junior officer in the Zakka forest of Safana LGA of Katsina State on Tuesday. 

The Spokesperson for the Katsina Police Command, Gambo Isah, confirmed the gruesome murder of Mr Umar via an electronic statement to People’s Gazette. 

Mr Isah said the police had received a distress call about the activities of the terrorists, numbering at least 300 on motorcycles with Ak47 rifles, before they attacked the deceased.

The spokesman stated that the “recalcitrant terrorists” killed Mr Umar after an exchange of gunfire. 

“Consequently, the Area Commander and one other gallantly lost their lives during a cross-exchange of gunfire,” Mr Isah added.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Heavy Gunshot as Gunmen Attack Kuje Prison

RMD Marks 61st Birthday with Lovely Photos