Tenure Elongation Alien to Nigeria’s Constitution – Fubara

The Rivers State Governor Siminalayi Fubara has stated that tenure elongation of Local Government Area Chairmen are alien to the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and so it will not be tolerated under his watch as his administration will defend democracy.

“What is happening here now is a defence of democracy. We will not allow the wrong precedent to be created in this country.

“It is not about Rivers State. It is not about Fubara. But if in any way this attempt of tenure elongation succeeds in Rivers State, it becomes a norm in Nigeria.

“So, we have taken it upon ourselves to say, not on our own watch will it happen because it is completely alien to the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.”

Speaking at the swearing-in at the Executive Council Chambers of Government House in Port Harcourt on Wednesday, Governor Fubara directed the Auditor-General of Local Governments to commence immediate audit of the accounts of the 23 Councils.

“I also want to say that, for the local government activities in the past three years, I would want to mandate: which is official assignment, not even a statutory duty, that the Auditor-General should immediately commence the audit of the 23 Local Government Councils in the past three years, and come up with the result in the next one month.

“It is important so that we will know what has happened and how our funds were being used in those 23 Local Government Areas. It is important so that it will be a check for those people who are also coming.”

In a statement made available by his Chief Press Secretary, Nelson Chukwudi pointed out that more than 85 percent of the States in Nigeria that are being run by caretaker committees.

“Ours is different, you had your tenure, you have completed your tenure, it is proper you let go. Life doesn’t create a vacuum. If you are not there again, that is, if your tenure has expired, doesn’t mean I should, because I want to please you, allow you to stay longer. No. It doesn’t happen like that. People must take over, manage the affairs and elections will be conducted.”

Governor Fubara instructed the CTC chairmen to work hard to ensure that there is no breakdown of law and order in their various council areas. He also warned them against any form of confrontation, insisting that such is not in his nature and style but advised them to be law-abiding as they take full control of the local government councils.

Those sworn-in include:  Madigai Dickson as chairman of Abua/Odual; while Hon. Happy Benneth is chairman of Ahoada East; Ahoada West has Mr. Daddy John Green as chairman; just as Barrister Otonye Briggs chairs Akuku-Toru; with Andoni chaired by Barrister Reginald Ekaan; and Asari-Toru, chaired by Orolosoma Amachree.
In Bonny, Alabota Anengi Barasua returned as chairperson; while in Degema, Anthony Soberekon is the chairman; with Eleme having Brain Gokpa as chairman, just as David Omereji is the chairman of Emohua; while John Otamiri Nkugbo is the chairman of Etche.

Also, Gokana has Κεννετη Kpeden as chairman; Ikwerre has Dr. Darlington Orji; Khana has Amb. Marvin Yobana; Obio/Akpor has Amb. Chijioke Ihunwo; Ogba/Egbema/Ndoni has Princewill Ejekwe as chairman; Ogu/Bolo is chaired by Rt. Hon. Evans B. Biρι; Okrika is chaired by Princess I. B. Ogan; Omuma chairman is Promise Reginald; Οροβο/Νκoro chairman, Hon. Enyiada Cookey-Gam returns; while Oyigbo has Hon. Gogo Phillip as chairman; with Ichemati Ezebunwo in charge of Port Harcourt City; just as Hon. Matthew Dike is the CTC chairman of Tai.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.