Buhari Nominates Six Names as New Ministers, Sends List to Senate

The Nigerian Senate has received the nomination of six names as replacements for ministers who resigned to contest the presidential election.

In a letter read out by the Senate President, Dr Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan on the floor of the Senate on Tuesday, revealed that the six nominations by President Muhammadu Buhari would replace the former ministers who resigned from his cabinet.

The former Minister of Transportation Rotimi Amaechi, Minister of Science and Technology Ogbonnaya Onu, Minister of NDDC Godswill Akpabio and Minister of State for Education Emeka Nwajiuba who all resigned in pursuit of the presidential race.

The letter read: “In accordance with Section 8 Subsection 2 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I hereby forward the underlisted ministerial nominees for your confirmation.”

The nominees are: Henry Ikechukwu Ikoh who hails from Abia State, Umana Okon Umana from Akwa Ibom State, Egwumakama Joseph Nkama from Ebonyi State, Goodluck Nnana Opiah from Imo State, Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub from Kano State, Ademola Adewole
Adegoroye from Ondo State and Odum Odih from Rivers State.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.